My Temple Stay experience in Seoul 

Temple stay experience


(I hope this post is not too late as I have been busy these months and you will find it useful if you are looking for some mindfulness training experience )

Seoul is on my top traveling list and I have been there for a few times. I have decided to try something different. Temple stay sounds like a great idea for me to have a mind escape and mid year reflection. It is my first time to stay overnight at a temple and I emailed the manager a month in advance. The manager is very nice and asked me if I could change date of visit to form a bigger group to make it more fun. She arranged a traditional Korean room for us and I shared it with two other girls. We got alone well each other and met again for lunch the next. Here is the Hwagyesa Temple website.

The temple is located in north Seoul and was just around 10 mins walking distance from bus station which is great for those who have tight schedule (as many temples with temple stay programme are located in remoted area. Of course with spectacular views and some are at top of mountains). There is another Temple available in central Seoul as well but slightly smaller. 

After checking in, we were warmly greeted by the monk and manager. We had nice vegetarian Korean meals with soup, lots of side dishes, fruits and rice cake. The monk took the tour for us and showed us daily routine of monks. He explained the drawings of Buddha story on the wall and showed us surroundings. He also showed us the musical instruments (actually drums and bells) used during ceremonies.

For the meals, there were plenty of veggies available. Sides dishes include stirred fried aubergine, pan fried tofu in sweet spicy soy sauce etc. It was especially tasty after a long day. A long day means you woke up at 4, had meditation then performed 108 full prostrations. By the time it was 7 am you felt like you had spent a long time already. It’s a completely training of mind and body.

The first day was originally for a walking tour then a hike. However it was raining so after the tour we stayed at the hall to do some art works. We did calligraphy then made beautiful paper lanterns. We first made some petals by sticking the two ends of stripes then sticked them onto the cup. They all looked nice but I have decided to give mine to my friends as a small gift plus I still had a long journey. I didn’t want to ruin it.

Lights off at 9ish and my roommates were happy to explore around. We had a few chats then went to bed. Apparently it’s still too early for us but just be reminded we had to get up early at 4. (The monk said there won’t be alarm and it’s completely up to us to join the meditation in the morning or not.) I thought I would miss it if I couldn’t join so I tried my best to get up early the next day.

Meditation was a bit different then what I learned in centres. Unlike what I have watched in Japanese cartoon, I could ask the monk to use a bamboo stick to tap my shoulder in case I was to sleepy. In a cartoon the participants were hit if they were found ‘lazy’. The monk asked us to put left leg over right leg when we sat on the floor because we used right side for actions and we should limit our impulsiveness and be calm. Quite a new and inspiring idea for me. We then walked slowly, including raising feet and touching the ground for practising mindfulness. No one would ever think of how to walk once they can walk since a child. But I felt like I have learnt something new that day. It was the feeling of existence and the relationship to the surroundings.

Then came to the hardest yet the most highlighted event – 108 prostrations. I sweated a lot but I felt great after exercising. Also, I cleansed my mind out of unnecessary thoughts as well. Every prostration carries great wish and manisfectation be it to self, family, social circle or global. The full list of prostrations can be found here – what is 108 prostrations and how to do

At 7 we had breakfast and went back to our rooms for tidying. At last we had a tea ceremony. We had tea from fresh lotus flower. I could see the flower beautifully floating on the big tea pot. We had a nice conversation with the manager and monk. I would definitely came back there for another training and recommend this for anyone who is interested in meditation.

Surroundings of the temple

Lotus lantern and artworks

 

Leave a comment